Skip to main content
Undergraduate Study: SMC Programs

Celtic Studies

Program Faculty

Ann Dooley, PhD
Professor Emerita
Interests: medieval Irish literature, modern Irish and Scottish literature
Odette Hall Room 023
Phone: 416-926-1300 ext. 3297
ann.dooley@utoronto.ca

Mark G. McGowan, PhD
Professor
Carr Hall, Room 319
416-926-1300 ext. 3253
Interests: religious history, The Great Irish Famine, Irish and Scots in Canada
mark.mcgowan@utoronto.ca

Brent Miles, PhD
Assistant Professor
Alumni Hall, Room 307
416-926-1300 ext. 3319
brent.miles@utoronto.ca

Máirín Nic Dhiarmada, BA, HDipEd, DGC
Senior Lecturer
Interests: modern Irish language and literature
Odette Hall Room 025
Phone: 416-926-1300 ext. 3275
dhiarmad@chass.utoronto.ca

David A. Wilson, PhD, FRHS
Professor
Interests: modern Irish history, Irish in North America, folklore and music
Odette Hall Room 021
Phone: 416-926-1300 ext. 3271
david.wilson@utoronto.ca

The Philip and Linda Armstrong Visiting Scholar 2013-2014

Michael Ryan, PhD
Lecturer, Celtic and Viking Ireland, University College, Dublin
Former Chair, The Discovery Programme, Ireland
Former Director, The Chester Beatty Library, Dublin
michael.ryan@utoronto.ca

The Ireland Canada University Foundation Visiting Scholar 2013-2014

Colm Duffin
Odette Hall Room 024
colm.duffin@utoronto.ca

Sessional and other instructors 2013-2014

Daniel Brielmaier
daniel.brielmaier@utoronto.ca

Leigh-Ann Coffey
leigh-ann.coffey@queensu.ca

Stephanie Conn
stephanieconn@gmail.com

Sean Conway
Odette Hall Room 021
sean.conway@sympatico.ca

Charles Foran
Odette Hall Room 021
cforan@hotmail.com

David Livingston-Lowe
Odette Hall Room 021
david.livingston.lowe@utoronto.ca

Stuart Macdonald
s.macdonald@utoronto.ca

Tadhg Morris
Odette Hall Room 021
tadhg.morris@utoronto.ca

Sarah O'Connor
sorcha.oconnor@utoronto.ca


Program Assistant

Jean Talman
Odette Hall Room 019
Phone: 416-926-7145
celtic.studies@utoronto.ca

In addition to providing administrative services, Jean is also the liaison between the Program and the Celtic community in Toronto. She is Program Co-ordinator of the Canadian Celtic Arts Association and Communications Officer for the Canadian Association for Irish Studies.

Kelly Librarian Liaison

Richard Carter
John M. Kelly Library, Room 127
Phone: 416- 926-1300, ex. 3444
richard.carter@utoronto.ca | read profile

Richard wants to help! Contact him with any library related questions, from using online resources to arranging library instruction, from ordering new Celtic Studies titles to getting help with your research.