Skip to main content

SMC Rugby Team - Victorious!

Congratulations Team!

Toronto, November 2005 | SMC's Rugby team defeated the Engineering squad 11-5, to become the new champions of U of T's intramural rugby league!

For their efforts, the team was awarded the coveted Mulock Cup, the oldest trophy in Canada that has been competed for annually without interruption. From 1895-1993 the cup was awarded to the victors of U of T's Tackle Football league but when that league was disbanded at the end of the 1993 season, it was re-dedicated to the rugby program. Prior to losing to SMC, Engineering's 'Skule' team had not lost a game in over 5 years; the defeat ended their hegemony over U of T's rugby program and has made SMC the undisputed champions.

The St Mike's squad was comprised of dedicated players from all over Canada, the United States and Asia, with a healthy mix of veterans and beginners. The team members showed a remarkable dedication to their sport by diligently practicing 3 times a week through blazing heat, freezing rain and sub-zero temperatures. The hard work has paid off and our players can now relax and savor their hard fought victory.

SMC Rugby Team

Back Row (left to right): Jerome Smith, Matt Paterson, Romy Dadula, Greg Bubela, Matthew Troncone, Aaron Martin, John Estabillo, DanMossip-Balkwill, Peter Flood, Greg Di Tomaso, Rine Dutkus, Will Harris, Dylan Marando. Third Row: Jerome Gardiner, Aadila Dosani. Second Row: Spence Bruce, Grant Madigan, Tim Edwards, Lakan Tomas, Erik Dobrowvolsky, Sean (Kaz) Mukai. Front Row (left to right): Mitch Lam, Paul Neville, Steve Figueiredo