Skip to main content

SMC – UofT Hockey Champions!!

Regular Season:
SMC 6 Phys Ed 2
SMC 3 Woodsworth 0
SMC 5 Engineering 0
SMC 4 Vic 4
SMC 4 Engineering 3 (OT)
SMC 5* Phys Ed 4
* Goals: Kyle Newton (2) Ian Mehisto (2) Greg Di Tomaso (1)

SMC Flag  Football Champions

Back Row: Aaron Martin, Tyler Runnings, Will Harris, Kevin Fawcett, Ryan Hamilton, Phil Turi, Anthony De Nino

Middle Row: Kyle Newton, Greg Di Tomaso (Player-Coach), Marc Hardiejowski (Coach), Ian Mehisto

Bottom Row: Paolo Sacchetti

Absent: Dan Di Fonzo, Mike Shuryn, Luke Di Tosto.

Photo by Duane Rendle. View larger photo

SMC Established 1852

On December 7, SMC defeated the Faculty of Physical Education 5 to 4 to become the undisputed champions of U of T’s Div I hockey league! Their victory avenged a bitter loss to Phys Ed in last year’s semi-final game and was made all the sweeter by the fact that their opponents were the defending champions. Fortunately, many of SMC’s players from last season returned to play this year resulting in not only the championship, but an undefeated season as well (Record: 4-0-1). Congratulations gentlemen - the Fighting Irish of Bay Street are back!