Contact Faculty of Theology

  • Offices Location

    3rd Floor, Muzzo Alumni Hall
    121 St. Joseph Street
    Toronto, ON M5S 3C2

  • Mailing Address

    Faculty of Theology
    81 St. Mary Street
    Toronto, ON M5S 1J4 Canada

Program Directors

Full Time Faculty

  • Michael Attridge, BA, MA, STL, PhD (St. Michael’s)

    Associate Professor

    Systematic Theology; Christology; Vatican II

    michael.attridge@utoronto.ca
    Read Profile

    Phone: 416-926-1300 Ext. 3608

  • Darren Dias, OP, BA, MDiv, PhD (St. Michael’s)

    Associate Professor

    Trinitarian Theology; Religious Diversity; Lonergan Studies

    darren.dias@utoronto.ca
    Read Profile

    Phone: 416-926-1300 Ext. 3395

  • Peter Galadza, PhD

    Professor
    peter.galadza@utoronto.ca

    Phone: 416-926-1300 ext. 3095

  • James Ginther, BA, MA, PhD (Toronto)

    Professor, Dean of Theology

    Medieval Theology, Biblical Exegesis, Ecclesiology, Church History

    james.ginther@utoronto.ca
    Read Article

    Phone: 416-926-7123

  • John L. McLaughlin, BA, MA, MDiv, PhD (St. Michael’s)

    Associate Professor

    Ugarit; Israelite Origins; Ancient Israelite Religion; Pre-exilic Prophets; Wisdom Literature; Psalms; Hebrew Poetry
    Cross-appointed to the Graduate Faculty, Department of Near and Middle Eastern Civilizations, University of Toronto

    johnl.mclaughlin@utoronto.ca
    Read Profile

    Phone: 416-926-7267

  • Dennis Patrick O’Hara, DC, ND, BA, MDiv, PhD (St. Michael’s)

    Associate Professor, Director of the Elliott Allen Institute for Theology and Ecology

    Associate Member of the Graduate Faculty of the School of Environment, University of Toronto
    Ecological Ethics; Christian Ethics; Theology and Ecology; Spirituality and Ecology

    dennis.ohara@utoronto.ca
    Read Profile

    Phone: 416-926-1300 Ext. 3408

  • Colleen Shantz, BA, MDiv, PhD (St. Michael’s)

    Associate Professor,
    Director of Advanced Degree Programs

    New Testament Social World; Social Scientific Approaches; Early Christian Religious Experience; Cognitive Science of Religion
    Cross-appointed to the Department for the Study of Religion, University of Toronto

    c.shantz@utoronto.ca
    Read Profile

    Phone: 416-926-7103

Patrick and Barbara Keenan Visiting Professor of Religious Education

  • Dr. Mara Brecht, BA, MTS, M.Phil., PhD (Fordham University)

    Religious diversity, interreligious dialogue, theologies of religious pluralism

    mara.brecht@utoronto.ca
    Phone: 416-926-1300, Ext. 3190

Affiliated Faculty

  • Robert Holmstedt, BA, MA, PhD (Wisconsin)

    Affiliated Professor

    Hebrew Studies, Hebrew Language

    robert.holmstedt@utoronto.ca

  • John S. Kloppenborg,BA, MA, PhD (St. Michael’s)

    Affiliated Professor, Chair, Department for the Study of Religion and Director of the Centre for the Study of Religion, University of Toronto

    New Testament and Early Christian Literature

    john.kloppenborg@utoronto.ca

  • Reid Locklin, BA, MTS, PhD (Boston)

    Affiliated Professor

    Interreligious and Comparative Theologies; Hindu-Christian Studies; Advaita Vedanta

    reid.locklin@utoronto.ca

  • Allan Smith, c.s.b., BA, MA, MDiv, DTheol (Erlangen)

    Associate Professor, Fellow, Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies

    Early and Medieval Church History; Russian Church History and Theology; Eastern Orthodox Spirituality; Monasticism; 19th and 20th Century Orthodox Theology; Sergei Bulgakov

    allan.smith@utoronto.ca

Professor Emeriti

  • Anne Anderson, c.s.j., RegN, BA, MHA, MA, DMin (Regis College/UT)

    Professor

    Jewish – Christian Studies; Pastoral Ministry; Pastoral Theology

    anne.anderson@utoronto.ca
    Read Profile

    Phone: 416-926-1300 Ext. 3190

  • William H. Irwin, c.s.b., BA, MA, STL, SSD (Pontifical Biblical Institute)

    Professor Emeritus

    Old Testament; Biblical Hebrew Poetry; comparative Northwest Semitic; Biblical Spirituality

    bill.irwin@utoronto.ca

  • Michael Vertin, BA, STB, MA, STL, PhD (Toronto)

    Professor Emeritus

    Philosophy of Theology; Theological Foundations of Multi-disciplinary Studies

    michael.vertin@utoronto.ca

Adjunct Faculty

  • Rachel Knight-Messenger,, BA, MTS, PhD (Candidate) (St. Michael’s)

    Affiliated Professor

    Systematic Theology; Christology; Catholic Ethics; Ecological Theology; Ecological Ethics; Christian Mysticism; Women and Christianity; Thomas Merton; Teilhard de Chardin

    rachel.ball@mail.utoronto.ca

  • Moira McQueen, BA, MDiv, PhD (St. Michael’s)

    Affiliated Professor

    Foundational themes in Christian ethics; Natural Law; human sexuality and marriage; justice: individual and social

    moira.mcqueen@utoronto.ca

  • David Pereyra, BA, MA, PhD (St. Michael’s)

    Affiliated Professor

    Christianity & Art; Christianity in Latin America; Liturgy,; Sacred Spaces; Accessibility; Diversity & Inclusion

    david.pereyra@utoronto.ca

  • Richard Shields, BA, MA, MEd, PhD (McMaster)

    Adjunct Professor

    Religious and Education; Catholic Schools; Faith Development; Media and Popular
    Culture

    richshields@sympatico.ca

  • Mary Rowell, c.s.j., RegN, BA, MA, PhD (Durham)

    Affiliated Professor

    Church and Society, Theological bioethics, especially the social dimensions of health care and global health, Eco-theology, ethics and society, Worship and Ethics, The History and Evolution of Religious Life

    mary.rowell@utoronto.ca

  • Michael Steinhauser, BA, STL, ThD (Wuerzburg)

    Adjunct Professor

    Christian Origins: New Testament and Early Christian Literature; Intertestamental
    Period, Art and Theology

    m.steinhauser@utoronto.ca

Student Life Committee